Bayelsa jubiliate as Seriake Dickson wins the Governorship election


There has been jubilation in Bayelsa State after the Supreme Court dismissed the appeal filed by the All Progressives Congress’ candidate, Timipre Sylva, in the last governorship election.

The seven-man panel of the apex court led by Justice Tanko Muhammad, on Thursday unanimously affirmed the election of the Peoples Democratic Party’s candidate, Governor Seriake Dickson, who was returned as the winner of the poll by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

See photos:

Deputy Governor of Bayelsa State, Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John Jonah rtd, (centre) fielding questions from journalists shortly after receiving news of Gov Dickson’s victory over his APC counterpart at the Supreme Court at Government House Yenagoa.
A cross section of a jubilant crowd in Yenagoa on receiving news of Governor Seriake Dickson’s victory over Chief Timipre Sylva of the APC at the Supreme Court in Abuja

Related Articles & Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to our newsletter!